I'm a male, 53 years old italian, living in Mantua, a small town in northern Italy. Want to know more about it? Click on the links below for some infos on Vergil's homeland!

I'm a professional developer, currently working for a financial group.
My CV is chiefly focused on IBM zSeries Mainframe programming, i.e. lots of COBOL, SQL through the DB2 RDBMS and other platform-specific stuff.

How comes that I'm involved with Linux, then? Well, IT became an hobby far earlier than a job for me. I started playing with a Sinclair ZX Spectrum 16K long ago, in the golden age of 8 bit machines, walking through many winding paths and ending with Ubuntu, which I really enjoy as the best compromise between my beloved Debian and the needs of a family.

Yes, I'm married, and I've got two daughters, aged 26 and 21 respectively. They are the very interest of my life even now. My wife is a teacher, so a good office suite is a strong requirement for her.

Other things I find of interest are, in random order: music listening (especially that great prog rock of the 70's, Genesis amongst all); sci-fi (with an insane obsession for those b-movies of the 50's); reading books; Mantova 1911 (the football team of my town); astronomy; playing the guitar and probably many others I can't remember at present.

[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mantua
[2] https://www.comune.mantova.it/index.php/turismo/english-version

User information

Launchpad Id:
Log in for email information.

Member since:
Icon of Launchpad Beta Testers Icon of Launchpad Users Icon of Ubuntu Budgie Developers Icon of Ubuntu Bug Control Icon of Ubuntu Development Team Icon of Ubuntu Members
Signed Ubuntu Code of Conduct:
wallyweek on irc.freenode.net
OpenPGP keys:
SSH keys:
English, Italian
Time zone:
Europe/Rome (UTC+0100)
807 Karma help

All memberships Latest memberships


Recent activities Most active in